Nwanyibuife A. Ugwoeje (Obiako)
2 min readAug 28, 2020

EMBRACE THE VALUE OF OTHERS

A few years ago, I had a series of professional exams to take.

There was one specific exam that gave me a headache. I felt like so much was riding on me to pass it.

I attended the exam prep classes and studied yet when exam day came, I was nervous!

So much so that at one point during the exam, I lost my pencil and spent about 5 minutes looking for it - only to find that I had lodged it in MY HAIR (I had a hairdo similar to the one in the photo).

Don't ask me how that happened.

Stories that touch...

After the exam, my spirit was not settled.

I did not feel 100% certain that I passed.

What if I didn't pass?

I would have been sad.

There are 3 men I confided in regarding my feelings about the exam. They decided to say daily prayers on my behalf.

Each man told me at different instances while awaiting my score for weeks:

"Relax. I have prayed for you. It is done."

Results came out and I passed.

The glory goes to GOD.

The 3 men were drivers at the organization I worked for at the time.

Why am I telling you this story?

Because value is not money-specific or rank-specific.

It is easy to think that only someone who is richer than you or holds a higher rank than you at your office can be valuable to you.

Lies.

Value is not money-specific. Value is not rank-specific.

Value can come in many forms (energy, time, volunteerism, counsel, prayer) and from many different people.

It is not wise to discount the value of people based on how much is in their pockets or how they are ranked or how familiar you are with them.

It is not wise to "see finish" people (for my non-Nigerian friends, this means to take people for granted).

God bless these 3 men that provided the value of prayer to me at a time I needed it.

I am forever grateful to them.

May this be a lesson reminder to us all not to dismiss the value of others.

#NADstories #storytelling #value #gratitude #notallmenarescum