Nwanyibuife A. Ugwoeje (Obiako)
2 min readAug 27, 2020

I was in a discussion recently about Imposter Syndrome and how prevalent it is amongst managers and leaders.

"Imposter Syndrome can be defined as a collection of feelings of inadequacy that persist, despite evident success."

Common thoughts and feelings associated with Imposter Syndrome include:

"I must not fail."

"I feel like a fake."

"I just got lucky."

One myth about Imposter Syndrome is that it only equates to people with low self-esteem or a lack of confidence.

The truth is that there a lot of high achieving and highly successful people that deal with Imposter Syndrome too.

If you deal with Imposter Syndrome, these tips help:

1. Recognize when negative thoughts come and what triggers them.

2. Remind yourself that it is normal not to know everything; you'll find out more as you progress.

3. Reframe failure as a learning opportunity.

4. Talk about your feelings. Trust me, you're not the only one dealing with Imposter Syndrome. It is more common than you might realize (this is where I raise my hand 🖐🏾).

5. Be kind to yourself. It is important to be kind to others AND yourself.

Yes - Imposter Syndrome is real and prevalent.

Yes - You CAN do great work and have a great impact as a manager, leader, and team member despite it.

Don't let it stop you.

Keep going.